Iris Prize

Russell T Davies & Iris Prize winner Till Kleinert

The Iris Prize – Cardiff’s International gay and lesbian short film prize - is presented annually during the Iris Prize Festival which takes place in Cardiff, Wales in October. The full programme includes new feature films, panel sessions, parties, screenings of all 30 short films competing for the Iris Prize and a closing night awards show.

The Prize is open to film makers from around the world and judged by a panel of international filmmakers and artists. The winner receives the largest prize for a gay and lesbian short film in the world - a package valued at £25,000 - allowing the winner to make their next short film.

Since its inception in 2007, the Iris Prize Festival has established itself "with lighting speed" as a must-attend event in the UK and international calendar. The festival has welcomed numerous renowned artists including Russell T Davies (pictured with 2008 Iris Prize winner Till Kleinert), Simon Russell Beale, Sarah Walters, and Alan Hollinghurst and whose patrons includes Matthew Rhys, Sara Sugarman, Lord Glendonbrook (Michael Bishop), Carol Coombes and regular festival guests Andrew Pierce (appointed Chair in 2013) and Christopher Racster.