Chris Morris, Mike Leigh, and James Nee

In 2014 The Festivals Company decided to focus our energy on the Iris Prize Festival. Ffresh is now produced by Ffresh Limited. Contact Festival Producer Jody Tozer on 029 20327446 or via e-mail info@ffresh.com 

The 2015 Ffresh winners can be viewed here

Now in its 13th year, Ffresh – the Student Moving Image Festival of Wales – features the best student work from Wales, the UK, and abroad, along with masterclasses, panel sessions and workshops with some of the industry’s most renowned and respected figures.

Previous guests directors include Mike Leigh (pictured with Ffresh 2012 Chair Chris Morris and James Nee from The Festivals Company), Asif Kapadia , Jonathan Caouette, Stephen Frears, Sergey Dvortsevoy, Matt Lispey, and Gaston Kaboré; screenwriters Andrew Davies and Tim Firth; producers Stephen Garrett and Sally Hibbin; highly acclaimed visual artists Lichtfaktor and Semiconductor; international FX companies The Mill and Double Negative; Oscar winning editor Jim Clark; gonzo journalist Jon Ronson, and animators Merlin Crossingham, Johnny Kelly, Phil Mulloy, & Peter Dodd, amongst many others.

The purpose of the festival is to celebrate the best work being created by the up-and-coming moving image talent from around the world, and to provide a vital link between higher education and the media sector. The festival programme also includes all the shortlisted work for the prestigious Ffresh Awards, which consists of 14 categories of excellence.
Below is the trailer for the 2012 festival held at the Newport Film School.